Youth Development News

DEVELOPMENT: Young Staggies see off Falkirk at the HFA in 4-2 win

SPFL Development League

Tuesday September 19, 2017 - Highland Football Academy, Dingwall 

Ross County 4-2 Falkirk (Mckay, MacIver, Dingwall, Wallace)


In bright Autumn sunshine the Ross County Development Squad ran out clear winners against a visiting Falkirk side who had twice taken the lead in an open first half.

After an even start to the match the visitors struck first in the 7th minute when left winger, Mark Stowe, slotted home tidily at the back post to beat Ross Munro. The Bairns were given no chance to consolidate their lead and just two minutes later Billy Mckay latched on to a loose ball in the box to equalise.

The Young Staggies looked like they would push on to take control of the match but against the run of play Kevin O’Hara smashed in Falkirk’s second in the 16th minute after a poor clearance found the Bairns’ striker. 

The next 20 minutes saw County push for an equaliser and, after having a good penalty claim turned down by the referee and seen a Dingwall shot well saved by Robbie Mutch in the Falkirk goal, the Staggies levelled when Ross MacIver despatched his penalty after Russell Dingwall was fouled in the box.

Falkirk’s O’Hara rattled Ross Munro’s post just before the interval but after the break only the home team looked like they would push on to win the tie. 

In the opening stages of the second period first Mckay, then Morrison, scuppered chances to put the Staggies in front before Russell Dingwall side-footed home Regham Tumilty’s cross on the 65th minute to make it 3-2. Moments later Munro pulled off a brilliant point-blank save from the Falkirk centre forward who should have done better from six yards.

With Wallace replacing Mckay, County pushed on for the goal that would put the game out of sight. And, after Wallace saw his shot parried by Mutch after some great inter-play with Dingwall, the busy striker was rewarded for his persistence to head home from three yards out after a brilliant cross from the right from Tumilty.


County XI: 

Munro, Kelly, Morrison, Grivosti, Malcolm, Tumilty, Dingwall, Ashmore, McDowell, Mckay, MacIver.

Subs: Herbert (GK), Wallace, Johnson, Gallagher, Murray, Macbeath, Johnstone.


Image: Ian Sneddon / Falkirk FC